Support and Help category

I would suggest to remove " support and help " category or rename it to something else. Also deleting the existing support requests. Google will take this as a support forum ( because of the existing content and category name ) and will bring more support requests here.

2 Likes

Removing “Community” from the name would help too - IMO Most users acquaint Ubuntu’s Community as a general help forum. Naming it something else might help remove any confusion.

1 Like

Yes indeed! Maybe something like “Developer Community” or… “Technical Community” :thinking: I am not good with names

Well, there are other valid non-technical communities and subjects that are valid here: LoCos, Documentation, etc.

Since there’s already a giant banner that specifically refers support querants to appropriate help venues, I suspect changing the name won’t have a big effect redirecting them. Indeed, names like “Technical Community” and the like may attract more of them.

Quick Google Test of “Ubuntu help” and “Ubuntu support” using an Incognito Window: discourse.ubuntu.com is not on the first page of english-language results for either term.

I’m NOT rejecting the idea of changing category name, deleting closed threads, renaming the entire discourse site, etc. I’m simply saying that we need to clearly identify the problem(s) that we’re trying to solve before generating solutions.

We want new folks to drop by and poke around, and share ideas. The occasional foolish question or drive-by feature request is one of the prices we pay for our openness. One answer: Feel free to be more generous with your flagging…and with your ‘like’ button. A friendly community attracts more collaborators and contributors.

3 Likes