Community Council meeting: 20171005

Hello!

This is the first meeting of October of the new community council recently elected.

Translations

english/ We have translations ready for: Spanish. More translators wanted!
español/ Tenemos traducciones listas para: español. ¡Necesitamos más ayuda con las traducciones!

Attendees

Council:

Absent:

Guests:

Summary

english/

• Round of introductions:
    Martin Wimpress: I work for Canonical as a Developer Advocate. I’m also the lead for Ubuntu MATE, which is a personal project.
    Walter Lapchynski: I work for a small bicycle manufacturer in the US, which I help manage an array of Kubuntu desktops and FreeBSD/Ubuntu servers. I contribute mostly to Kubuntu and Lubuntu.
    Leo Arias: from Costa Rica. I work on the snapcraft team at canonical. I have contributed with LoCo events, translations, bug triaging and a few other things.
    Anis: I work as a SysAdmin, I lead the Tunisian LoCo Team and try to contribute to any Tunisian FOSS projects whenever I have spare time.
    Aaron Honeycutt: from Denver CO, I work support at system76.

• [proposal] The community council is an all-male panel. Work to improve that for the next election in two years.
    There is a large issue of Ubuntu Member drop off which which we should try and turn around.
    We need to make it less male-centric by making it more welcoming to other genders.
    [action] We need to investigate first what are the non-inclusiveness issues within the community that we can address.
    [action] We need to find ways to get people around to world to contribute more, then apply for a membership, and encourage them to keep contributing and apply for boards.

• [proposal] Host the community council meetings on YouTube on Air.
    IRC and mailing lists are not a great way to attract new users and contributors.
    Text is translatable, easily logged, easily read very quickly. videos less so.
    [no-agrement] We need to keep discussing and trying more ideas.